Disasters

Hi everyone sorry it has been so long since I last posted but it’s that time of year again and I have been busy writing new schemes and making new resources for the following year.  There will be lots more postings over the next few weeks of useful finds and some new resources you can play with.  To keep you going until then here is a great game to play which comes from the ISDR (International Strategy for Disaster Reduction).  This is an organisation whose aim is to reduce the number of dead and injured from natural disasters.

Year 7 should look at the flooding scenario and Year 8 at the earthquake  or Tsunami ones in preparation for next years unit on earthquakes.   Click on the image to get going

15 Responses to “Disasters”


  1. 1 Mae December 1, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    This game is a good game because it makes you think about the defences and the money that is put into towns and places to stop them having wildfires and tsumanis. I found that it made me think about people went through on 26th december (boxing day) while we were all at home opening presents and having fun with our family.

  2. 2 Rosemary December 11, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    Even though i found this game quite complicated at the start i understood it after.

  3. 3 Linda, Bosco December 12, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    I enjoyed playing this game as I learnt quite a lot about how to prepare for an earthquake. My final score was 29,110 points and my budget remaining was $90. Unfortunately, I failed the mission because I did not meet all expectations- this was proberly beacause 15 people died, 309 were injured and 749 people out of 850 were housed- 10 were sheltered. Yet I have still learnt a lot. Thanks Miss!

  4. 4 Kassandra,Bosco December 13, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    I thought this game was good because you actually get to make all the decisions yourself and you see for yourself all the options that have to be made to ensure peoples safety in the country from disasters like tsunamis and earthquakes and hurricanes. You also get to see the financial side of everything and see how much is spent on making everybody safe. Even though I failed the mission I learnt how to prepare for an earthquake.

  5. 5 Demi Bosco December 13, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Hiii miss

    My final score was 11,750
    died : 7
    injured : 221

    I had to do this game a couple of times because before I got 0 because I did not reinforce the houses

  6. 6 Gabija, Bosco December 13, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    The scenario I chose was to prepare for a hurricane. My final score was 29,470 and my budget remaining was $100. I also failed the mission because 5 people died and 183 were seriously injured. 43 buildings were destroyed and the cost of damages was $8,550. Overall I think I did extremely well and have learnt alot.

  7. 7 Jackson, Bosco December 13, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    i did realy well, I got a gold medal, I killed 0, I injured 0, I housed 307/400, I destroyed 0 buildings, I sheltered 21 of the population, I met all the expectations, I made a hospital and school, I got the final score of 45,230 but unfortunately I had $0 left =] but overall I think I did very well, thanks ms

  8. 8 Hazel, Bosco December 13, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    This game was interesting. I learnt a lot about protecting cities when earthquakes happen. Unfortunately I failed. My score was 28,210. I had 17 deaths, 372 injuries. But I housed 850 people out of 850 people and I built the hospitals and schools with 52 people sheltered helped by my evacuation aids. I enjoyed this game and would like to play it again some other time to see how I can improve and hopefully pass.

  9. 9 Zoe,Bosco December 13, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    this game was quite good but really hard to get the hang of. lots of people died during the hurricane but i put as much defences as possible but i still failed.But i tried it again with an earthquake and got a better score but still failed. this game is very addictive as you really sturrgle hard to win. I definatly tried agan and again and learnt a lot about disaters and how to defend them.
    Cool Game Miss!!!

  10. 10 Valerie I, Bosco December 13, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    I enjoyed playing the game and it was a bit tricky because you had to think a lot and make sure that you made the right decisions when developing or demolishing something. I failed the mission but found it a good experience anyway. Great game !!!

  11. 11 Rhiannon,bosco December 14, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    i enjoyed this game as i was able to put my self in the shoes of the people involed in earthquake defence(dont know the name of the job sorry!!!)
    at the end of game my final score was 12,500 and 5 people died,109 injured and i had $5 left.
    it was a good experience. REALLY GOOD GAME!!!!!

  12. 12 Linda, Bosco December 14, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    I enjoyed playing this game once more as I received a gold medal at the end with my score entered into the highest scores rank. My final score was 68,970 (more than Hannah!) and I housed 711 people out of the population of 320. The population sheltered was 59 people and 5 buildings were destroyed, unfortunately. 15 people died and 15 were injured, also, my remaining budget was $175. Thanks!

  13. 13 Anna.Bosco December 15, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    Hi,
    This game really made me think a lot. Didn’t find it too easy. I really understood it in the end. I don’t think I did really well but managed too create a hospital and a school. I think I had 11 deaths and quite a lot of people injured. Overall I need to learn from my mistakes and try to improve it! =S

  14. 14 Sophia,Bosco December 16, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    hi Ms, it was quite a complicated game but you learn to understand it as it goes on. i used most of my money 72 people injured 43 dead i got a final score of 28,810. i liked the game and would definitely play it again.
    sophia spantios

  15. 15 Charlene February 21, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    As looking for favela marcos work I came across this game and it has loads of comments so i thought i would try it.

    I found it really hard and i did’nt understand what i was doing so i just built anything, everywere.

    to my suprise my scores came to this…
    (i did the flooding scene)

    Building Destroyed – 0
    Population Housed – 524/550
    Population Sheltered – 32
    Total damages – $0
    Population Died – 0
    Population Injured – 0
    I passed the missions and passed the game.

    My final score 81,940.

    I am very happy and I actually learned a little from this game and this might help me in the future.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites

Gorgeous Geography Calendar

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 414,554
Geo Visitors Map

Ms Richards Flickr Photos

Weather Pixie

The WeatherPixie

